

October Committee Updates

Communications Committee

Chair: Natalie Stier (Utah's Hogle Zoo)

Representatives: Natalie Stier (Utah's Hogle Zoo), Meagan Ashton (Seattle Aquarium), Delanie Jellison (Santa Barbara Zoo), Brent Weston (Dakota Zoo), Leanne Schuh (Grizzly & Wolf Discovery Center)

We continued consolidating and re-coding posts and continued outlining goals for our upcoming social media toolkit. You can <u>view our agenda here</u>.

Conservation Action Committee

Chairs: Erica Carnes (Blank Park Zoo), Kelsey Raffel (Zoological Society of Milwaukee) **Representatives:** Ryan Retzke (Hawthorn Hallow Nature Center), Toby Seegert (Zoological Society of Milwaukee), Brooke Tucker (ZooMontana), Bethanie West (Idaho Falls Zoo)

We discussed our learnings and key takeaways from our committee professional development. Together we took a 5-hour Masterclass taught by Jane Goodall on conservation.

DEAI Committee

Chairs: Shanna M. Hillard (Zoological Society of Milwaukee)

Representatives: Abigail Flores (Racine Zoo), Crystal Fox (Lake Superior Zoo), Alejandra

Medina (Minnesota Zoo), Sharon Spencer (Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens)

This month, the DEAI Committee discussed shifting the purpose of the committee and implementing regular DEAI special interest group (SIG) meetings in 2025 to give people in the Network a structured, but informal space, to share about their own and learn from other's DEAI initiatives. The committee aims to implement these changes starting in early 2025.

You can <u>view our agenda here</u>.



October Committee Updates

Membership Committee

Chair: Heather Harelson Nutick (Red River Zoo) / Tierney Ball (Zoo Boise) **Representatives:** Heather Harelson Nutick (Red River Zoo), Tierney Ball (Zoo Boise), Chris Berg (Shedd Aquarium), Autumn Russell (Akron Zoo), Sarah Bowser (Oakland Zoo)

We discussed continued revisions to current Network expansion, debriefed Network related happenings and events from the annual AZA Conference, and talked about committee agency. You can <u>view our agenda here</u>.

Steering Committee

Chair: Shana Kent (Alaska SeaLife Center)

Representatives: Hannah Tilden (Woodland Park Zoo), Shana Kent (Alaska SeaLife Center), Liz Hines (Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium), Aszya Summers (Lincoln Park Zoo), Liz Gilles (Minnesota Zoo)

Due to multiple last minute scheduling conflicts, this committee's September meeting was cancelled.

Strategic Learning Committee

Chair: Melia Paguirigan (Woodland Park Zoo)

Representatives: Isabelle Bieser (Zoological Society of Milwaukee), Melia Paguirigan (Woodland Park Zoo), Ryann Stacy (Racine Zoo), Cameron Whitley (Western Washington University), Jessica Schellhorn (Blank Park Zoo), Kelly McAdams (Clearwater Marine Aquarium)

This month we finished coding Network Partner Organization mission statements for answering our first strategic learning question. You can <u>view our agenda here</u>.



October Committee Updates

Interested in joining a committee?

Reach out to us at empathy@zoo.org and let us know which committee you are interested in being a part of. In addition to an hourly meeting once a month, committee representatives can expect to spend 30 minutes-1 hour outside of meetings on committee tasks per month. Terms are 2 years.

We currently have open seats on the Communications, DEAI, and Membership.